close

The Qwillery | category: 2018 DAC Cover Wars | (page 3 of 3)

home

The Qwillery

A blog about books and other things speculative

qwillery.blogspot.com

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Winner


The winner of the Febuary 2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars is The Philospher's Flight by Tom Miller from Simon & Schuster with 47% of the votes.


The Philosopher's Flight
Simon & Schuster, February 13, 2018
Hardcover and eBook, 432 pages

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Winner
A thrilling debut from ER doctor turned novelist Tom Miller, The Philosopher’s Flight is an epic historical fantasy set in a World-War-I-era America where magic and science have blended into a single extraordinary art. “Like his characters, Tom Miller casts a spell.” (Matthew Pearl, author of The Dante Club and The Last Bookaneer)

Eighteen-year-old Robert Weekes is a practitioner of empirical philosophy—an arcane, female-dominated branch of science used to summon the wind, shape clouds of smoke, heal the injured, and even fly. Though he dreams of fighting in the Great War as the first male in the elite US Sigilry Corps Rescue and Evacuation Service—a team of flying medics—Robert is resigned to mixing batches of philosophical chemicals and keeping the books for the family business in rural Montana, where his mother, a former soldier and vigilante, aids the locals.

When a deadly accident puts his philosophical abilities to the test, Robert rises to the occasion and wins a scholarship to study at Radcliffe College, an all-women’s school. At Radcliffe, Robert hones his skills and strives to win the respect of his classmates, a host of formidable, unruly women.

Robert falls hard for Danielle Hardin, a disillusioned young war hero turned political radical. However, Danielle’s activism and Robert’s recklessness attract the attention of the same fanatical anti-philosophical group that Robert’s mother fought years before. With their lives in mounting danger, Robert and Danielle band together with a team of unlikely heroes to fight for Robert’s place among the next generation of empirical philosophers—and for philosophy’s very survival against the men who would destroy it.

In the tradition of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness, Tom Miller writes with unrivaled imagination, ambition, and humor. The Philosopher’s Flight is both a fantastical reimagining of American history and a beautifully composed coming-of-age tale for anyone who has ever felt like an outsider.





The Results

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Winner






February 2018 Debuts 

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Winner


2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts


2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts


Each month you will be able to vote for your favorite cover from that month's debut novels. At the end of the year the 12 monthly winners will be pitted against each other to choose the 2018 Debut Novel Cover of the Year. Please note that a debut novel cover is eligible in the month in which the novel is published in the US. Cover artist/illustrator/designer information is provided when we have it.

I'm using PollCode for this vote. After you the check the circle next to your favorite, click "Vote" to record your vote. If you'd like to see the real-time results click "View". This will take you to the PollCode site where you may see the results. If you want to come back to The Qwillery click "Back" and you will return to this page. Voting will end sometime on March 7, 2018.

Vote for your favorite February 2018 Debut Cover!
 
pollcode.com free polls




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts
Cover artwork by © ruby onyinyechi amanze





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts
Cover design by Dawn Adams





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts
Cover Art by Bob Eggleton





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts
Cover Art by Jonathan Coulthart





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts
Photo by Nigel Cattlin
Design by Jamie Stafford-Hill





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts
Cover Art by Jeff Chapman
Layout and typography by Shawn King

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Winner


The winner of the January 2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars is The Sky Is Yours by Chandler Klang Smith from Hogarth with 81% of the votes. The cover was created by Michael Morris, a designer at Crown.


The Sky Is Yours
Hogarth, January 23, 2018
Hardcover and eBook, 464 pages

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Winner
“There have been a lot of books heralded as heirs to Infinite Jest, but I can happily say: this is it.” — Leah Schnelbach, Tor.com

A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it’s like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure


In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis’ last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they’ve ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.





The Results
2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Winner





January 2018 Debuts 
2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Winner

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts


2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts


Each month you will be able to vote for your favorite cover from that month's debut novels. At the end of the year the 12 monthly winners will be pitted against each other to choose the 2018 Debut Novel Cover of the Year. Please note that a debut novel cover is eligible in the month in which the novel is published in the US. Cover artist/illustrator/designer information is provided when we have it.

I'm using PollCode for this vote. After you the check the circle next to your favorite, click "Vote" to record your vote. If you'd like to see the real-time results click "View". This will take you to the PollCode site where you may see the results. If you want to come back to The Qwillery click "Back" and you will return to this page. Voting will end sometime on February 3, 2018.


Vote for your favorite January 2018 Debut Cover!
 
pollcode.com free polls





2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Cover art by Wayne Haag
Jacket design by Lesley Worrell, with logo design by Tim Daniel




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Cover illustration by Kevin Peterson
Cover design by Anthony Morais




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Cover design by Elizabeth Connor




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Cover design by Two Dollar Radio




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Art by Ian Leino
Design by Lauren Panepinto




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Cover design by Mumtaz Mustafa
Cover photograph © David & Myrtille / Arcangel




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Jacket design and illustration by Michael Morris




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts
Cover design by Jason Snair




2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts

2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Winner2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - February Debuts2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Winner2018 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars - January Debuts

Report "The Qwillery"

Are you sure you want to report this post for ?

Cancel
×