close

The Qwillery | category: Matthew Wilson

home

The Qwillery

A blog about books and other things speculative

qwillery.blogspot.com

Fire Power #15 Coming in September

Fire Power #15 Coming in September
FIRE VERSUS (WHY DID IT HAVE TO BE) SNAKES IN FIRE POWER BY KIRKMAN & SAMNEE #15

Fire Power blends audacious action sequences with heartfelt character moments” -AIPT 


PORTLAND, Ore. 08/05/2021 — Today Image/Skybound revealed a first look at Fire Power by Kirkman & Samnee #15, continuing the exciting second year of the hit series from superstars Robert Kirkman, Chris Samnee and Matthew Wilson.

After the stunning events of the last issue, the Serpent’s Omen takes hold! Now, Owen has no choice but to fight back—and the Fire Power might not be enough. But first Ling Zan, Kellie and Owen will have to sort out, well, a lot.

Fire Power by Kirkman & Samnee #15 (Diamond Code JUL210227) will be available at  comic book shops and digital platforms including Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, comiXology, and Google Play on Wednesday, September 1.

For more info and updates, visit  www.skybound.com.

[click to embiggen]
ABOUT IMAGE COMICS
Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of bestselling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has six individuals on the Board of Directors: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri, Jim Valentino, and Eric Stephenson. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline Comics, Skybound Entertainment, and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, fantasy, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit
www.imagecomics.com.
ABOUT SKYBOUND ENTERTAINMENT
Founded in 2010, Skybound Entertainment is a multiplatform content company that works closely with creators and their intellectual properties, extending their stories to further platforms including comics, television, film, tabletop and video games, books, digital content, events, and beyond. The company is the home of notable properties including The Walking Dead, Invincible, and Super Dinosaur.

Skybound holds strategic partnerships across the entertainment industry, and has the in-house capabilities to serve as publisher, producer, and global distributor for tabletop and video games. On screen, Skybound holds a first-look television deal with Amazon Studios and a first-look movie deal with Universal. Additional partnerships include comic book publishing with Image Comics, book publishing with Simon & Schuster, and a first-look narrative audio deal with Audible. Skybound also houses a variety of unique creators and their IP, including Kristian Harloff and his pop-culture movie trivi

THE KILLING HORIZON Coming in Summer 2020


THE KILLING HORIZON Coming in Summer 2020
HOT OFF THE WICKED + THE DIVINE FINALE, JAMIE McKELVIE SET TO LAUNCH THE KILLING HORIZON FROM IMAGE COMICS THIS SUMMER

PORTLAND, Ore. 10/10/2019 — THE KILLING HORIZON is the explosive new sci-fi vision from Jamie THE KILLING HORIZON Coming in Summer 2020McKelvie, co-creator of the bestselling, award-winning THE WICKED + THE DIVINE, and Eisner Award winning colorist Matthew Wilson (THE WICKED + THE DIVINE, PAPER GIRLS), launching from Image Comics in Summer 2020.

The project sees McKelvie return to writing for the first time in a decade, after establishing himself as both a popular artist of comics such as YOUNG AVENGERS and designer of iconic superheroes including Captain Marvel, Ms. Marvel and Loki.

THE KILLING HORIZON takes place in the post-post-apocalyptic future. Far from Earth, a specialist in studying dead alien societies is embedded with a military unit to excavate a new find. She’s done it before. It’s good work and it’s safe. She thinks it’s just another job.

She’s wrong.

Lost and alone, deep beneath the warped, skeletal spires of the millennia-dead city, she finds something powerful. Something unlike anything any human has ever known. Something that needs her to take it on a journey no living being has ever taken. Something that will make her a target for every side fighting a deadly war. It calls to her.

She answers.

In an exclusive interview with io9 at New York Comic Con, McKelvie, already known for pushing the limits of comic book storytelling, talked about what makes this project so exciting: “The canvas becomes vast and that’s more than a little bit scary for me. Humans are humans, cars are cars, you can generally recognize that a tree is a tree. Those boundaries vanish when you’re doing a story like this. With such a drastic change of setting, storytelling possibilities expand out in all sorts of different directions. There’s a sequence I’m really excited about drawing that arose from a quandary: how do I approach this moment/image on the page? The story possibilities spill out into the “storytelling” possibilities and that’s got me buzzing.”

Joining the established partnership of McKelvie and Wilson are letterer Aditya Bidikar (THE WHITE TREES, LITTLE BIRD, designer Cecile Richard and editor Katie West.

THE KILLING HORIZON is a space opera comic inspired by the works of Iain Banks, Ann Leckie, Michael Moorcock, and Yoon Ha Lee and is perfect for fans of Jeff Lemire and Dustin Nguyen’s  Descender, Jason Aaron, Dennis Hallum, and Stephen Green’s  Sea of Stars, and Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples’ Saga.

THE KILLING HORIZON Coming in Summer 2020

ABOUT IMAGE COMICS
Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of bestselling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has six individuals on the Board of Directors: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri, Jim Valentino, and Eric Stephenson. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline Comics, Skybound Entertainment, and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, fantasy, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit
www.imagecomics.com.

We Believe In Colorists


We Believe In Colorists
#WEBELIEVE IN COLORISTS APPRECIATION VARIANTS DISPLAY RADICAL IMPACT COLORS HAVE ON ARTWORK

PORTLAND, OR, 04/03/2018 — Image Comics is pleased to reveal the black and white SPAWN #286 cover artwork by legendary artist Todd McFarlane and the seven Colorist Appreciation variants that display the high impact of colorists on the artistic medium.

A selection of bestselling colorists—Moreno Dinisio, Frank Martin, Matthew Wilson, Owen Gieni, Annalisa Leoni, Nikos Koutsis, Jean-Francois Beaulieu—each put their own spin on the same McFarlane cover for these #WeBelieve in Colorists variants, and each cover displays their radically different techniques and stunning results.

“Colorists’ important contributions to our medium cannot be overstated, and even the best artwork can benefit from the involvement of just the right colorist,” said Eric Stephenson, Publisher at Image Comics. “When I’m watching pages come in for a comic from the first pitch to the finished project, it’s often when the colorist gets involved that the book really begins to take shape, when the personality of the artwork and the storytelling really shine through. Once upon a time, colorists were just the last stop on the production train, but today, colorists are essential and trusted collaborators—often moving with artists or writer/artist teams from project to project. Every colorist has their own voice, and there’s no better way to highlight just how different finished artwork can look than by showing off the handiwork of seven different colorists and how their approach has impacted a single piece of artwork. We’re all thrilled with the result, and we hope you’re equally excited to see how the same artwork can look in the hands of multiple colorists.”

We Believe in Colorists is the second of many initiatives throughout Image’s planned #WeBelieve 2018 campaign highlighting the important, lately overlooked talent of the comics industry.

Comics is a visual storytelling medium with an artist’s inks and the colorist's pallete working hand in hand to convey the tone and mood within a finished piece of artwork.

Available on Wednesday, May 30th, final order cutoff deadline on Monday, May 7th:
  • SPAWN #286 CVR A B&W by McFarlane (FEB188683)
  • SPAWN #286 CVR B by Dinisio (FEB188684)
  • SPAWN #286 CVR C by Martin (FEB188685)
  • SPAWN #286 CVR D by Wilson (FEB188686)
  • SPAWN #286 CVR E by Gieni (FEB188687)
  • SPAWN #286 CVR F by Leoni (FEB188688)
  • SPAWN #286 CVR G by Koutsis (FEB188689)
  • SPAWN #286 CVR H by Beaulieu (FEB188690)

We Believe In Colorists
We Believe In Colorists
We Believe In Colorists
We Believe In Colorists
We Believe In Colorists
We Believe In Colorists
We Believe In Colorists
We Believe In Colorists

ABOUT IMAGE COMICS
Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of bestselling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has five partners: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri, and Jim Valentino. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline Comics, Skybound Entertainment, and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, fantasy, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit
www.imagecomics.com.
Fire Power #15 Coming in SeptemberTHE KILLING HORIZON Coming in Summer 2020We Believe In Colorists

Report "The Qwillery"

Are you sure you want to report this post for ?

Cancel
×